Control What iOS 7 Does with Gmail Deleted Messages

With Gmail IMAP, you can either archive deleted messages to the 'All Mail' folder or you can actually move them to the trash folder. The default on iOS 7 is to archive messages. In previous versions of iOS, this setting was available right on the main email account screen. In iOS 7, it's buried a bit deeper. Go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, and Calendars > Tap on your Gmail (or Google Apps) account. You'll then want to tap on 'Account' and then 'Advanced'. You should be seeing something similar to the screen shot below.

2013-08-30 19.05.49.png